10 Days

I finally got through the last bit of of the Udacity section dealing with JSON parsing, HTTP Networking, and Threads & Parallelism, and it is kicking my butt. I mean, they preface it with saying that they’re difficult concepts, but dayuuum.

Actually, it’s not that bad, but it is really important to have a firm understanding of Java to feel comfortable making everything happen. I got lost somewhere between the threads, so I started scoping out all of the different resources I could find to dumb it down for me. I’m all about brute forcing my brain, because otherwise I know I’ll give up on it.

Generally, and I have no clue why this is, if I don’t understand a concept, if I try to learn something more difficult where the first concept is somewhat of a foundation of the second – I’ll start seeing why the first was important. And, if the second concept is too difficult, long naps will work just as well.

So, my next project is going to figuring out how to search through JSON. I’ve got the skeleton of the Earthquake app to work from, I’ve got some examples of searching apps. I’m ready to go. In 10 days my project is due, and I’m going to see if I can get it in 7.

[Also, this is Day 4 of #100DaysOfCode. I spent most of the day researching resources, juggling code in my head.]

Leave a Reply

