Quiz App

This post was going to include photos (tomorrow’s will) but I decided not to keep my lady up too late with typing it out on my computer. 

I finished the quiz app. There are still minor changes that I want to make, but it does work. It’s amazing seeing it all come together. 

The next things I want to work on are cleaning up the code and making the UI look pretty. I never thought I would need photoshop, but I think it’s the way to go with having sharp images tailored to what you want to see. I’ll likely need to add another program to my adobe subscription, but that’ll be for another day with money I have yet to acquire. 

Speaking of which, I stopped working the other day out of pure frustration. I had been waiting to get paid, and when I finally did, it felt lighter than what we discussed. I knew I should have just created some sort of contract for myself, but I think I either need to move away altogether, or hit this money from another angle. I enjoy problem solving, but doing it for your life with money on the line -well, I understand why people go crazy. 

Instead of work, I took the train out to the city to catch Pokémon. A very silly thing to do, but this is like a bonus holiday weekend, and I can’t let that candy go to waste (I need to raise my Charmander to be big and strong). The first thing I did was scout out a place for poke. I haven’t had poke since I lived in Hawaii. It’s really the only place you can enjoy it. That, and fat ass musubis from Safeway. 

I came across a place called Pokeworks, and it was amazing. Now, if you go there, you probably won’t be able to tell the difference in sizes for their large and regular bowls – but that stuff is delicious. Anyways, I waited in the rain to go in. 

Lines are funny to me. Especially when it’s for something I’ve never had before. 

So, I go in. And service is pretty fast. Then I see what I assume to be the manager take one of the employees aside and tell her to ramp it up. After she handed me my bowls, we shared a look like, “she’s trippin’ right?” and I moved on to my journey to Central Park. 

It was freezing outside. I hate being wet and cold. Now I gotta worry about the bottom of my jeans getting caught under my chucks, and my phone getting wet.  I didn’t stay out for as long as I planned to. 

I made my way back to the train station, and I see a train going in my direction, and I hesitated boarding it. It was probably for a good reason because I ended up helping someone out. She had just flown in from LA, and wanted to find her way to Brooklyn. I’m not that good with the trains myself, but I knew enough to lead her where she needed to go. I ended up being a lifesaver by having my battery pack on me so she could charge her phone (really meant for extended Pokémon play), and we had a cool conversation about living life against the grain (her family warned her about NY being dirty with rude people, when LA is just the same. It’s all the same dirt). I’m generally more interested in staying in my own world when I’m out in public, but it was nice sharing a conversation with a stranger. I think it was also meant to be since we’re both from LA, I had battery juice, and we both took a break from work to do something for ourselves. 

As soon as I got home I started cranking out this app. Do all the questions have translations? Cool. Do the points add up correctly? Cool. Can I commit this to Github? Probably. How do I figure out how to arrange these radio buttons? Stackoverflow.com. 

And I probably wouldn’t have done all that if I continued to work for less than what I’m worth. I even knocked out three photo albums. 

Always make time to do you. 

Leave a Reply

